auction night highlights

Chiara’s Journey Auction Night!

WOW!

I am in awe of what is achievable when a community comes together to help someone in need, in our case, our little daughter Chiara.

We are so grateful for our friends and family who supported us and helped make the night such a huge success.

How did this all come about? It all began with three dedicated people: Lena and Frank Molinaro together with Tony Cursio and then grew into a wonderful night with the help of so many people.

Here’s some highlight’s:

* setting up at the venue the day prior and sharing a meal with all the beautiful volunteer’s at San Marco Club. Nothing like pasta, wine and breaking bread together for a good cause.. mangia, mangia!

* getting our hair and nails done – Grace and Mama enjoying some time together. Watching her dance around the salon, such a fighter and free-spirit (like her mama). After being so unwell with whooping cough, the God’s seemed to heal her so she could attend the night. Two nights after the auction night we were back in the emergency department at RCH 😷

* Arriving at my beautiful friend Katie’s house in Carlton (5 min’s from the venue!) to get my make-up done. Loved chilling with her and Cam, who made a mean G&T to calm my nerves. I got to their house about 20 min’s before they arrived home, I walked across the road to café Bu and brought a tea and sat on their balcony in the sun. It was the first moment I had the opportunity to stop. I’d been rushing around getting all those last minute things for the night, leads for the projector, seating lists printed, sponsorship thank you’s etc etc.

* Driving down Canning street to San Marco with Katie. I am so lucky to have friends who honestly feel like sister’s. Lauren and Lena arrived shortly after and set-up the tables with flowers (who were kindly donated by Flower Jar in Richmond) as well as the sponsor sheets for each table. These three women completely had my back, so lucky to have the anchor of their friendship. They helped all night, with raffle tickets, seating, anything that was required. When women come together to help one another, it’s such a powerful force. I had such a shitty week, I was so tired and still full of worry for Grace with her whooping cough and all the other niggling things that went along with the event planning. Yet with their company I felt re-energised, thank God for good friends! Thank you ladies, I love you so so so much!

* hearing Michelle sing ‘Shine Bright Like A Diamond’ as they were practicing before the guests arrived, her voice is incredible and moved me to tears..

* running upstairs before guests arrived, to open the door, literally on a group of my old school buddies from high-school. I have not seen some of these women for over 25 years! I was so humbled and almost moved to tears that they came (and in force too!). Thank you Kilmaire!

* Getting some things out of the car and seeing my family walking down the street: Mum, Dad, Bec, Sharon and Aunty Lee. Aaaahhh, my tribe.

*Hearing the POP! of the champagne bottles and my uncle Jon delivering a glass of champagne to me, a well deserved drink!

* Greeting so many people, taking a moment to see the community that Mauro, Grace, Chiara and I are a part of.

* Having a laugh when Chiara cried out during the speeches, as I went to get her, she suddenly beamed her smile at everyone – I think she wanted to be on stage 😉 Mauro agreed to do part of the speech if I wrote it✨

* Sitting with my family on the night, I don’t get to see my cousins or siblings much these days. Jumping in the car with Grace and Chiara and driving bayside to see them is just not an option. I can’t leave the house unless another adult is with me, due to Chiara’s inability to travel. I miss them lots! So much fun to catch up with my cousins, in particular Shelley, we grew up in nappies together and loved having her next to me. We are two crazy pisces!

* Feeling full of love for my sister and her most amazing partner Sharon, they both looked after Grace and Chiara for most the night. Chiara fell asleep on Bec’s lap, then when the music started Bec took her upstairs so she could keep sleeping in her arms. Bless. Love these two so much.

* One very special moment, dancing with Grace. This girl completely melts me, we have such a deep and strong connection. We held hands and those big brown eyes looked at me, with much adventure, so much depth, so much wisdom, so much inner knowing, and oh so much Grace. I’ll never forget this moment…. her free spirit so vibrant, yet I could tell she was still unwell. No one knows a child like their mother..

To all the divine souls who donated auction items, or cooked food for us during the crazy week, who offered to help in so many ways, I thank you with all my heart. Mum helped keep the house afloat while I helped set up the event.

I really don’t know how we managed through the week leading up to the event. Life always goes on though, even when you expect it to stop while you catch a breath, it keeps flowing, it keep charging on. Still a week later, life seems to be bowling one huge thing after another.

Guide us with your Grace….. (that’s all I can say!)

“The Prayer”

I pray you’ll be our eyes, and watch us where we go.
And help us to be wise in times when we don’t know
Let this be our prayer, when we lose our way
Lead us to the place, guide us with your grace
To a place where we’ll be safeLa luce che tu hai
I pray we’ll find your light
nel cuore restera
and hold it in our hearts.
a ricordarci che
When stars go out each night,
eterna stella seiThe light you have
I pray we’ll find your light
will be in the heart
and hold it in our hearts.
to remember us that
When stars go out each night,
you are eternal star
Nella mia preghiera
Let this be our prayer
quanta fede c’e
when shadows fill our dayHow much faith there’s
Let this be our prayer
in my prayer
when shadows fill our day
Lead us to a place, guide us with your grace
Give us faith so we’ll be safeSognamo un mondo senza piu violenza
un mondo di giustizia e di speranza
Ognuno dia la mano al suo vicino
Simbolo di pace, di fraternitaWe dream a world without violence
a world of justice and faith.
Everyone gives the hand to his neighbours
Symbol of peace, of fraternity
La forza che ci da
We ask that life be kind
e il desiderio che
and watch us from above
ognuno trovi amor
We hope each soul will find
intorno e dentro se
another soul to loveThe force his gives us
We ask that life be kind
is wish that
and watch us from above
everyone finds love
We hope each soul will find
around and inside
another soul to love
Let this be our prayer
Let this be our prayer, just like every child

Need to find a place, guide us with your grace
Give us faith so we’ll be safe
Need to find a place, guide us with your grace
Give us faith so we’ll be safe

E la fede che
hai acceso in noi,
sento che ci salvera

It’s the faith
you light in us
I feel it will save us

* will post the photo’s from the night soon
cccccc

Categories: Fundraising

Leave a Reply

