do you believe in signs?

8 years ago

I had just returned from travelling solo through Greece, Turkey, India and the U.K for a year. Instead of returning to my job as Account Manager for Buena Vista Home Entertainment (Disney), I embarked on a whole new direction into Natural Medicine. I worked part-time at Disney and studied full-time at Southern School of Natural Therapies (SSNT) to become a Naturopath.

During this time at SSNT I met a guy called Mauro. We became good friends, often walked the streets of Fitzroy in between lectures. It would be a few years before we got together, but he was so patient (Taurean trait) and he reminds me often, that he used to see so many signs during those early days.

We would be walking along the street, he would see love heart icon’s on  car’s, murals of love, two birds cuddled in together, buskers would be serenading us with love song lyric’s. He was quite literally bombarded with signs. One day he asked me if I wanted to go to the park across the road and meditate, something about having a dream where we were able to transport ourselves into other realms/realities. Sure I said, so off we ventured to the park, sat under a tree, held hands, closed our eyes, he also brought a pink rose quartz stone this was to be part of this random meditation ceremony.

The sun was shining, we were under our tree sitting crossed legged in front of each other, holding hands and trying to transport ourselves into some parallel universe (as you do!). Eventually we opened our eyes, and he asked me if I saw anything and I said no but smiled, we had a laugh, got up as if nothing happened and toddled off to uni again talking and sharing as we did. I remember telling my flatmate that night about the randomness of the day, and how this guy asked me to meditate under a tree. My flatmate Lauren and I had affectionately named him ‘Nature Boy’ as I could never pronounce his name very well. Maurrrrro (you gotta roll the r’s)..

So anyhow the signs grew stronger and more evident all around us as the years went by. Just moments before he proposed to me, in a little mud brick church on Rottnest Island Perth, a Peacock flew in between us then suddenly fanned open it’s feathers and began to parade around in a circle. This went on for about 5 minutes and we both sat in silence to watch this magnificent creature do it’s thing. It felt so surreal at the time. Then we entered the church where Mauro proposed. We took a photo inside the church, celebrating our engagement. It wasn’t until after we noticed we were dressed in the exact same colours as the people on the stain glass window. It was of ‘The Visitation’ where angel Gabriel had announced to Mary that she was to become the mother of Jesus. I was a few months pregnant at this time with little Grace Maria.

To us it felt like more confirmations that we were meant to be, that God, the Divine, the Universe put us together for a reason. A lot has changed since those early days of walking Brunswick Street, feeling so free. We used to have so much time together, now we have two beautiful girls and one with extra needs so it’s rare for us to have that same sense of freedom. Although we stil receive some pretty clear signs, our recent trip to America confirmed that with one big random event, which I’ll write about soon.

It may all just be as simple as sheer coincidence’s or as complex and intricate as divine intervention….

I might add that neither of us completed our Bachelor of Health Science in Naturopathy, but something tells me, we were never meant to…

2 Comments »

  1. Where’s your book honey. I so want to curl up on the couch, in front of my fire and learn more ✨🌟✨🌟✨🌛🌜

Leave a Reply

