Goodbye 2014.. welcome 2015 ♥ ♫ ♬

We’ve been playing this song all morning (listen and click here)!! Made me think of us and our new normal with Chiara.. and yes the sun does shine better on the other side… there is always an-‘other side’…. another perspective, another way of looking at the cards you have been dealt in life. And as much as the wind knocked the sails out of me this year – I learnt (often the hard way!) that in order to cope I needed to let go…. like really let go…let go of wishing that life was different, wishing that Chiara was not brain-injured..and wishing that we could get on with the life we imagined…

I have two paths in front of me – one leads to  a very sad, upset, and angry mother who feels cheated by the Gods of fate, the other is  a very compassionate, patient and accepting mother who will rise to any challenge with an open heart. I’ve decided to take the later into 2015!!

So here we are at the crossroads of a fresh new year, a time to wipe the slate clean an create new magic and possibilities. 2015 for us is all about FUN, health, healing, love and abundance… I know its going to be full of many challenges, our daily life with Chiara already is… but no magic-wand is going to change it overnight – so we better have a bloody good time while we’re at it!

I was watching the Disney movie ‘Brave’ with the girls the other night (the main character is my daughter Grace all over!!! seriously!!) and the quotes at the beginning and end of the movie struck a chord…

“Some say our destiny is tied to the land, as much a part of us as we are of it. Others say fate is woven together like a cloth, so that one’s destiny intertwines with many others. It’s the one thing we search for, or fight to change. Some never find it. But there are some who are led…..”

Chiara is definitely leading us.. we don’t  know quite where… but happy to follow..

“There are some who say fate is beyond our command, that destiny is not our own, but I know better.. our fate lives within us… you only have to be brave enough to see it…..”

Two thousand and fifteen, I welcome you with wide open arms

and a brave open heart.. bring it!

8 Comments »

  1. 2015 is sure to be better with an outlook like that. My family – Keith, Ken, Julie and Sally wish you all you wish for yourself. Be strong and know that many people admire the four of you greatly. Keith

  2. I definitely know what you mean about the two paths. It’s pretty to me that my outlook on life will determine so much about on how happy I feel. You are an amazing woman and I feel privileged to be sharing your journey through your blog.

    • Absolutely not always an easy task when you’re in the thick of it – but definitely the higher road on many levels. Ditto my friend – love sharing Eva’s journey too… and wishing you a very Happy 2015! x

  3. “I have two paths in front of me – one leads to a very sad, upset, and angry mother who feels cheated by the Gods of fate, the other is a very compassionate, patient and accepting mother who will rise to any challenge with an open heart. I’ve decided to take the later into 2015!!”
    this is exactly how i feel, i couldn´t put it in words before, thank you for helping with that.
    I have a son wih special needs, he has microcephaly. Also, we live in Estonia and there are only one other case like ours here. Oh, and i cant believe how much your little one looks like my dear Ragnar. Greeting and happy 2015 from Estonia!

  4. Happy 2015 to you & your beautiful family. Chiara also has Microcephaly, it was the first diagnosis that she got… I remember googling it and it sent me into a spin! It’s a challenging road this special needs gig… but there are many blessings.. we just need to keep our eyes open to them. Much love, stay on touch xx

  5. You are an inspiring woman yourself Nat. Feel similarly enthused to take each day as it comes, as my 92 year old mum clings onto her world with ever increasing fragility. Yes the challenges are many but the attitude with which you approach them says much about you and a lot about the outcome. Look forward to coming over soon to do a cleaning Clara morning. Call me when it would suit you. Sending love and good karma. Xxxxx

    • You are so beautiful. Oh the great cycle of life, we look after our loved ones at high intensity when they are babies, than again in old age. Cant wait to catch up to celebrate 2015! Loads of good karmic love back x

Leave a Reply

